Hindsight Is 20/20

Webster defines Hindsight as : “perception of the nature of an event after it has happened.” …………

 

Hindsight-is-wonderful

So why do we often burden ourselves with the trials of yesterday? Giving old situations constant thought which becomes a distraction and a hindrance for what we are ultimately trying to achieve. Living in the past takes away from the present moment. Instead of enjoying the current moment, we stress over situations we no longer have control of. That moment is gone, there is nothing you can do about it but better prepare for the future.

I to often find myself dealing with this issue. From school to my career. There are things that I wish I’d done differently that I didn’t realize until now. But why do I beat myself up over it?  Perfect example: in undergrad I majored in Graphic Communications with a minor in Business Administration. How was I suppose to know that I was going to fall in love with marketing? In college I didn’t know much about marketing to say I liked it or wanted to do it as a career. I took a few classes my junior year and did well in them. But once I graduated from college and really did research on the industry I fell in love. Now, at this point because I know what I want to do I can either worry on why I didn’t major or minor in this while in undergrad or take the necessary steps to figure out what I need to be doing at this present moment to get hired at a marketing firm. All I am trying to say is not to waste your time on being mad or upset on what you didn’t know. LEARN FROM IT!!!

It’s always easier for us to say what we should have done or what we could have done after we have experienced a situation. But during the time we are faced with the dilemma, we feel limited in our choices or unable to make a decision on what we need to do. We beat ourselves up to often revisiting the past where we can no long give a solution. What we can do however it better prepare ourselves for the future.

I urge you to let go of whatever we may be holding on to. No matter how long it’s been just let it go. Put your energy in how you will move forward. If you have to revisit a situation, do it for a moment to understand what went wrong and how you can avoid it if it ever happens again. If you are still alive and breathing there is time to do or be what you want to be. BE ENCOURAGED!

 

Leave a Reply

